For Tomorrow’s Witness

By The filmmakers of Lebanon and Israel

In the face of atrocity: two petitions from Lebanon and Israel's filmmaking community

The cost of the Israeli bombardment of Lebanon is now more than 300 deaths and more than 1,000 wounded. 500,000 people have left their homes and become refugees. The people of Lebanon have been taken hostage on their own soil, in violation of all international conventions. At the same time Israel carries on with the destruction of all the infrastructures (roads, bridges, electrical installations, civilian airports and ports) and the institutions of the Republic of Lebanon (military, civil defence, Red Cross).

When some would claim that all nations have the right to defend themselves, Lebanon, even on its knees, refuses this irresponsible chain reaction. The Lebanese army, under continual bombardment, has received orders not to respond. However, Israel’s reaction to this peaceful message is to continue its attacks.

Confronted by humanitarian disaster, we filmmakers, intellectuals, and Lebanese artists demand the cessation of violence and call for an immediate ceasefire.

We appeal to the international community and in particular to the people of France, and to its cineastes, intellectuals, and artists, to put pressure on its political representatives and to demand respect for the United Nations resolutions without exception and above all for the respect of fundamental human rights.

It’s a cry, an appeal for the defence of the National Republic of Lebanon; a message and symbol of pluralism and diversity.

Your mobilization and your signature, count.

Pascal Thomas/réalisateur
David Thion/producteur
Jean-Pierre Thorn/réalisateur
Marie-Claude Treilhou/cinéaste
Eugène Green/cinéaste – écrivain
Christophe Ruggia/réalisateur
Agnès MERLET/Auteur – Réalisateur
Jaqcob Berger/Cinéaste
Philippe Fusellier/réalisateur, Paris
Vanina Vignal/réalisatrice
Emmanuelle Baude/monteuse film
Samuel Churin/Comédien
José Pinheiro
Jean pierre limosin
Catherine Garanger/cinéaste
Laurence Petit-Jouvet/Réalisatrice
Christiane Rorato/comédienne/réalisatrice
Viken Armenian
Dominique Cabrera
Claire Simon/cinéaste
Laurence coriat
Holly Aylett/cinéaste et rédactrice Vertigo Magazine, UK

Statement of solidarity from Israeli filmmakers

We, the undersigned Israeli filmmakers, greet the Arab filmmakers who have gathered in Paris for the Arab Film Biennial. Through you, we wish to convey a message of camaraderie and solidarity with our Lebanese and Palestinian colleagues who are currently besieged and bombarded by our country’s army.

We unequivocally oppose the brutality and cruelty of Israeli policy, which has reached new heights in recent weeks. Nothing justifies the continued occupation, closure, and oppression in Palestine. Nothing justifies the bombing of civilians and the destruction of infrastructures in Lebanon and Gaza.

Allow us to tell you that your films, which we try to see and circulate among us, are extremely important in our eyes. They enable us to know and understand you better. Thanks to these films, the men, women, and children who suffer in Gaza, Beirut, and everywhere else our army exercises its violence, have names and faces. We would like to thank you and encourage you to keep on filming, despite the difficulties.

For our part, we will continue to express through our films, with our raised voices, and in our personal actions our vehement opposition to the occupation, and we will continue to express our desire for freedom, justice, and equality among all the peoples of the region.

Nurith Aviv / Ilil Alexander / Adi Arbel / Yael Bartana/ Philippe Bellaïche / Simone Bitton / Michale Boganim/ Amit Breuer / Shaï Carmeli-Pollack / Sami S. Chetrit / Danae Elon / Anat Even / Jack Faber / Avner Fainguelernt / Ari Folman / Gali Gold / BZ Goldberg / Sharon Hamou / Amir Harel / Avraham Heffner / Rachel Leah Jones / Dalia Karpel/ Avi Kleinberger / Elonor Kowarsky / Edna Kowarsky / Ram Loevi / Avi Mograbi / Jad Neeman / David Ofek / Iris Rubin / Abraham Segal / Nurith Shareth / Julie Shlez / Eyal Sivan / Eran Torbiner / Osnat Trabelsi / Daniel Waxman / Keren Yedaya